Book Reviews

Book Review : Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Amazing Retelling of Cinderella

❤Full of Geeky stuffs

❤Perfect for Starwars & Star Trek fangirls/fanboys

Cute Romance

.

.

.

Book Title : Geekerella

Author : Ashley Poston

Publisher :  Quirkbooks

Pages : 320

Type Of Book : Standalone

Read From :  May 28  , 2017 – June 1 , 2017

Format : Paperback

When geek girl Elle Wittimer sees a cosplay contest sponsored by the producers of Starfield, she has to enter. First prize is an invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. Elle’s been scraping together tips from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck behind her stepmother’s back, and winning this contest could be her ticket out once and for all—not to mention a fangirl’s dream come true.

Teen actor Darien Freeman is less than thrilled about this year’s ExcelsiCon. He used to live for conventions, but now they’re nothing but jaw-aching photo sessions and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Federation Prince Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the diehard Starfieldfandom has already dismissed him as just another heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, closet nerd Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise. 

Guys! if you haven’t read this book yet! You definitely should! #HighlyRecommended. So I saw this book at PolandBananaBooks /Christine’s book haul video. I was so intrigue about this book and since I love retellings so much, I added it to my Book-to-Buy list. Fortunately my local bookstore had this book so when I saw it, I immediately grab it and went straight to the cashier.
I’ve read this book after reading ACOWAR, since I don’t have this ACOWAR-HANGOVER. From the first page to the last page of this book, I fell in love with it.

This book is a Cinderella retelling, so cliche right? I’ve read so many retelling books bout’ Cinderella and this one is the best so far. It actually reminds me of “A Cinderella Story” (2004 with Hilary Duff) but it has geekiness on it which made it so amazing. So the story goes with Elle a fangirl of this scifi tv series called STARFIELD ( How I wish the author would write a book about Starfield, I need Prince Carmindor in my life). So there was an upcoming movie remake of the Starfield (which is a tv series) that stars our lead male character – Darien Freeman💕 as Prince Carmindor. Elle hates the new Prince Carmindor, and rants about him being not so good to be the Prince Carmindor of the remake version in her not-so- famous blog. Things got stirred up when Darien the closet fanboy of Starfield accidentally texted Elle.

The characters were fine, I love Elle’s geeky & brave personality. Also Darien who’s struggling with his 2 worlds (being a Starfield geek & being a famous star), being a closet geek he was,being romantic, &  also being brave. The side characters were fine specially Elle’s friend, Sage as Fairy Godmother. Also the Stepmother & the Stepsisters were good and it really reminds me of “A CINDERELLA STORY” (2004)

The plot was totally amazing! I never been into a comiccon or bookcon here in our country but while reading this book feels like I’ve been to. The cinderella story essence was still there and the author did a great job with it. I really love the texting/text-romance part, the highlight of the book (which I will not going to spoil you) and also the ending. It was a fast paced book actually, I didn’t get bored while reading it. I can’t get enough with this book tho. 💕 I need a sequel! ❤

The romance was cliche but I don’t have a problem with it. Texting romance was a meh for me but this one was great. It kinda feel cheesy and it feels like being a high school kid (It really reminds me of “Cinderella Story” (2004) that I did watched the film while still reading this book). 

All in all, this book was totally amazing. That I highly recommend it to everyone who loves Cinderella retellings & full of geeky stuffs. Also to bookworms who’s craving for light YA contemporary reads.

🌟5/5 stars 💕

Thank you so much for reading my book review

Leave a Reply

