Book Reviews

Book Review : Caraval by Stephanie Garber

❤ Tricky 

❤ Not so magical

❤ Insta-Love

❤ Surprising Plot Twist

Book Title : Caraval

Author : Stephanie Garber

Publisher : Flatiron books

Pages : 407

Type Of Book : 1st Book

Read From :  Feb 8 , 2017 – Feb 23, 2017

Format : Paper Back US edition
.

Whatever you’ve heard about Caraval, it doesn’t compare to the reality. It’s more than just a game or a performance. It’s the closest you’ll ever find to magic in this world . . .

Welcome, welcome to Caraval―Stephanie Garber’s sweeping tale of two sisters who escape their ruthless father when they enter the dangerous intrigue of a legendary game.

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever

Hello guys! It’s been a while since I did a book review. I was so busy that I could manage to read 1 book a month. 😂

Anyway welcome welcome to Caraval! This book if full of tricks & mystery. So we have our protagonist Scarlett who had this kind of a rebel sister Donatella. They want to see the Caraval which was owned & managed by Master Legend. And Scarlett has been writing letters to Master Legend to come to their Island so that she & her sister could watch the performance in caraval. After so many years, finally Master Legend wrote back & it’s their chance to leave the island & their abusive father . So they went to this private Island of Master Legend where Tela was kidnapped & boom! The mystery begins.

Let’s start with the characters. We have Scarlett as the protagonist of the story. She was a kind & a loving sister towards Donatella. She’s simple & this typical miss-goody character. I adore her as she tried to solve the mystery in the game, but I also found her so bland & not-so-kick-ass kind of character (which I’m most fond of). Donatella the rebel sister, at first I thought she was a bitch but I was wrong tho. I never get to know her better since she was 90% absent in the story (coz she was kidnapped by Master Legend). Then the lead male Julian, which is kind of a Thorne wannabe (from the Lunar Chronicles). He tried to be funny & cunning but sorry Julian you’re not pulling it off. Then the villains : Master Legend who’s weird & he’s giving me this Darkling feels.Scarlett & Donatella’s father who’s very abusive and it reminds me of Adelina’s Father in The Young Elites by Marie Lu. There are more side characters but I will not discuss them for a spoiler free review. 😊 

The Plot, I didn’t expected the plot would be so epic( yes it is!). I thought it was boring & so cliche but gosh! It was mind blowing! It felt like I was totally deceived by Master Legend like what happened to Scarlett.I was so speechless at ending part. 

The Romance was totally an INSTA-LOVE! Hey dear friends! I love INSTA-LOVE but this one is so boringg & not good. I don’t have a problem with Insta-Love but this one ugh! There are no romantic lines that would give me butterflies on my stomach. They just tasted eachother’s blood (will not explain further coz I might spoil you guys) and boom! They’re inlove. 😨

All in all, I have a mixed emotions about this book. It was a good read but not really what I’ve expected it would be. I thought this book would be so magical but it wasn’t .It was like watching a theatre show. The ending got me and that’s why I’m giving this book a

⭐⭐⭐⭐ 3.9 / 5 stars
Thank you so much for reading my reviews!

Instagram : @_thereadingdove

Twitter : @thereadingdove

Leave a Reply

