Book Reviews

Book Review : Carve The Mark by Veronica Roth

❤ Boring Scifi Book

❤ Romantic

❤ POC issues

❤ Badass Characters

.

.

.
Book Title : Carve The Mark

Author : Veronica Roth

Publisher : Katherine Tegen Books

Pages : 468

Type Of Book : 1st Book

Read From :  Jan. 19 , 2017 – Feb 8 , 2017

Format : Hard Cover US edition

In a galaxy powered by the current, everyone has a gift.

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power — something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is the son of a farmer and an oracle from the frozen nation-planet of Thuvhe. Protected by his unusual currentgift, Akos is generous in spirit, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get this brother out alive — no matter what the cost.
The Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, and the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. Will they help each other to survive, or will they destroy one another?
Carve the Mark is Veronica Roth’s stunning portrayal of the power of friendship — and love — in a galaxy filled with unexpected gifts.

Hello lovely readers! Before starting this review I would like to celebrate with you my 1st Anniversary here in wordpress. Yay! 🎉🎉🎉 Happy Anniversary 💕

So this is my first time to read V.Roth’s books. I’ve heard so many great things about Divergent & I’m planning to read it soon-ish. Since I’ve heard that this books is a scifi, I immediately put it on my BTB (Books-To-Buy) 2017. So when I finally got this book, I put away THE READER and read it asap. So I have this high expectation coz duhhh it’s V.Roth & It’s a scifi book (one of my fave genre). So I’ll tell you the details why my expectation for this book has been crumbled into pieces. Anyway I’ve also heard so many bad things & issues about CTM.But I set that aside, coz sometimes I love some of the most hated book in the YA planet. (But it rarely happens)  😂.

So we have this planet called Thuve where people like Shotet (who also lives in Thuve) are trying to conquer the whole planet & fighting against the Thuvesit.I didn’t get this whole Shotet vs  Thuvesit thing at first because the world buidling was so confusing (seriously). So in CTM they had this Oracles (which are  the most precious gifted people in the whole CTM universe). And the lead guy AKOS who’s a Thuvesit, has an Oracle Mother & Brother. So one day  Akos & the Oracle brother was kidnapped by the Shotet, coz they need their own Oracle. Ok let’s get into the lead female character – Cyra so she had this amazing power to cause great pain in every person she would touch, but she can also feel this pain too. So years later, now grown up Akos was presented to Cyra to put away the pain she always felt by her brother Ryzek (the main villain). So they get closed together, friends – lover blah blah. But infairness the romance is not insta-love. Moving on, the book was so slow paced which disappointed me so much. Again, the world building was so confusing. I can’t even imagine that this is a scifi book that was set in space/planets. I thought there would be like Aliens in this book or even amazing space crafts like in The Lunar Chronicles. It feels like they’re just in this place & that’s it (even though they went to other planets). Also they had this weird CURRENTGIFT thingy other characters currengifts aren’t too powerful except the ORACLE, CYRA, VAS & AKOZ. This book is weird ugh!

Also I’ve encountered the Racist part in the book but I’m not sure if there are more coz I just keep on reading without focusing on it much. I just wanted to finish it soonish. I badly need to end its life.

The thing that disappointed me so much in this book is the fighting scene.😢 I thought it would be a bloody hell action packed book. But it was awfully rushed and felt so bland. I love some parts from this book but I think 90% is disapppointing for me. The character of Cyra & Akos were much alike with AEITA Elias & Laia. So Cyra is Elias & Akos is Laia 😂 

All I can say about this book is that it is boring, slow paced, not-well-develop world, so weird & not so action-packed. But what I love about this book are the following : the beautiful book cover (#coverbuys),beautiful bookmap, Cyra & Akos romance (but I didn’t feel the kilig much like in the other books that I’ve read) & lastly Cyra being brave & badass in the last part of the book.

My Rating for this book is

⭐⭐⭐ 2.9 / 5 stars
Thank You For Reading My Reviews 😊💕

PHOTO BY : thereadingdove

INSTAGRAM : @_thereadingdove

TWITTER : @_thereadingdove

Leave a Reply

