Book Reviews

Book Review : Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige

❤ Snow Queen Retelling

❤ Insta-Love

❤ Amazing Plot Twist

❤ Weird 

Book Title : Stealing Snow

Author : Danielle Paige

Publisher : Bloomsbury

Pages : 375

Type Of Book : 1st Book in A Trilogy

Read From :Dec. 02-11, 2016

Format : Trade Paperback UK edition.

First kisses sometimes wake slumbering princesses, undo spells, and spark happily ever afters.

Mine broke Bale.

Seventeen-year-old Snow has spent her life locked in Whittaker Psychiatric—but she isn’t crazy. And that’s not the worst of it. Her very first kiss proves anything but innocent…when Bale, her only love, turns violent.

Despite Snow knowing that Bale would never truly hurt her, he is taken away—dashing her last hope for any sort of future in the mental ward she calls home. With nowhere else to turn, Snow finds herself drawn to a strange new orderly who whispers secrets in the night about a mysterious past and a kingdom that’s hers for the taking—if only she can find her way past the iron gates to the Tree that has been haunting her dreams.

Beyond the Tree lies Algid, a land far away from the real world, frozen by a ruthless king. And there too await the River Witch, a village boy named Kai, the charming thief Jagger, and a prophecy that Snow will save them all.

This is my first Danielle Paige book, and I heard so many great things about her DOROTHY MUST DIE series. But before reading this book I read the original first THE SNOW QUEEN by Hans Christian Andersen for reference. 

Ok first of I would like to thank Isabel @littledovereader (bookstagram) for giving me this book as a christmas present. Ever since I saw the US & UK cover of this book I fell inlove with it. And also the synopsis got me so hard that I listed it on my BOOKS-TO-BUY list. Coz duhh I love retellings so much!

Even tho I didn’t have a high expectations I was still disappointed with it. The plot was dull & weird, even tho it has the elements of the original story. So the first setting of the book is an Asylum where our lead character SNOW was confined because she almost killed her bff by breaking a mirror (What?!) Then she had this guy named Bale who’s is her bf. He was kidnapped by unknown forces & was taken to a winter wonderland across the TREE. So Snow need to rescue him and there’s this guy named Jagger (weird name tho) who appears on her dreams trying to communicate with her that she need to get out of the asylum and go to the TREE. So Snow got out & went to this eternal snow land where his father (the king) is trying to kill her. So she goes on with Jagger but they got seperated & she got into the River witch who tried to train her with her snow powers. Then she met this guy Kai (Exo?) &  the beast girl ( I forgot the name). So they became friends and she kissed Kai ( What?) Let’s not forget that she cross the tree to save her lover Bale but she kissed that guy.

Let’s move on, She met another batch of character who are trying hard to do magic when they don’t have one. Then she met Jagger again, which I think his one true love through out the series. So there’s a Love Square and it was ridiculous & the two guys are insta-love. Except Bale coz he was her friend since they were kiddos. I can’t connect to every single of them, I didn’t like the main character coz she reminds me of the typical YA fantasy character who’s trying to end a tyranny. I want something different tho 😂

But even tho I was disappointed about this book I still do love the plot twist. I think it was the highlight of the book. It was my first time to encounter a Family as villain book.

All in all, I don’t like this book that much, it was a good read the writing style was ok but the plot was dull. Retelling are supposed to be exciting & fun to read since authors are trying to twist the original story. But this one? Meh 😧
I don’t know if I should continue reading this series. I hope the 2nd book would be interesting.

⭐⭐⭐ 3.2 / 5 stars
Thank You For Reading My Reviews 😊

PHOTO BY : thereadingdove

INSTAGRAM : @_thereadingdove

TWITTER : @_thereadingdove

Leave a Reply

