Uncategorized

Book Review : An Ember In The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Book Title : An Ember In The Ashes

Author :Sabaa Tahir

Publisher : Razorbill

Pages : 446

Type Of Book : 1st Book in a Series

Read From : Dec. 19-22, 2016

Format :Hardcover 1st Edition

Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.
 
Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear.
 
It is in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. The family ekes out an existence in the Empire’s impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They’ve seen what happens to those who do.
 
But when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to make a decision. In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire’s greatest military academy.
 
There, Laia meets Elias, the school’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he’s being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined—and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.


Confession : I DNF This Book…….. Before! And that was last year! 😁

Ok, there are 2 reasons why I DNF this book.Because I have a problem with the lead female character at first. For me she’s a little dumb & weak kind of lead female character which I was not used to. She don’t have any secret-awesome powers like the other lead female characters in YA fantasy that I’ve met. Also I can’t take the violence & brutality when I first started to read this book. Before you start bashing me, let me explain also why I can’t take it. Because the time I read this book last yr. I was in the point of exploring the world of YA books. Since I started my book reading career with Midgrade books. In short I was still adjusting in the world of YA. Also I’m already a Young Adult but I was not used to read some books with much violence. So please bear with me ✌

Moving on to my actual review. In my 2nd attempt on reading this book. I liked it because it was fast pace (even before when I DNF it). Also I love every characters in this book specially our lead characters Laia & Elias. Ok, at first I still didn’t like Laia but at the end she had this perfect character development which captured my heart ( forgive me Laia for dissing you). Then we have this amazing & new hottie Elias who’s different from other Mask. He’s kind to the Scholar people which I liked the most. Then we got our tough girl Helene! Also my fave, I even liked her than Laia before. Then this rebel guy Kenan ugh! He’s a hottie too. But guys, I admit that I don’t like LOVE GEOMETRY, but this love square? it was awesome! But I seriously ship Laia & Elias, they look so cute together.

Don’t forget our majestic Villain! the Commandant. Everyone was scared of her even her students.She’s so violent, evil, dark & brutal. Oh My Stars! She’s also the reason why I DNF this book. I was scared of her. The plot was amazing and probably the reason why everyone loved this book so much. It was intense & got me gripping so hard on the edges of the book. This book was totally awesome, hands down to Sabaa Tahir. I regret that I DNF this book, and I also regret not buying the sequel when it was still on sale on my local bookstore. 

All in all, this book got me hard. I love it and I wanted more. The plot, the characters were amazing. I definitely need to buy the sequel. If you haven’t read this, you defs should! Highly recommended! 

Thank you so much for reading my review!
PHOTO : by thereadingdove

INSTAGRAM : @_thereadingdove

TWITTER : @thereadingdove

2 thoughts on “Book Review : An Ember In The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Leave a Reply

