Uncategorized

MOVIE REVIEW : Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children 

TITLE : Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

DIRECTOR : Tim Burton

CAST : 

Eva Green as Miss Peregrine’s

Asa Butterfield as Jake Portman

Ella Purnell as Emma Bloom

Ever since I’ve heard that this book is going to be a movie, I was so excited af. I’ve keep on updating myself with the MPHFPC movie news coz I’m so happy & very excited for the movie. From filming photos, twitter updates from the author, & the trailer. When I saw the movie trailer I was so happy & proud coz my all time fave book is finally going to be a movie!.

Also when I heard about the change of characters ages & peculiarity swaps in the movie, I was a bit disappointed but I still supported the movie tho coz I’m a big fan of MissP. This was my first time to watch a book-to-movie adaptation that I’ve read the book, since I always watch a book-to-movie that I still haven’t read its book.

So let’s get started with the cinematography, it was super duper awesome!  Coz duh! It’s a Tim Burton film (his works are some of my faves). Some of the scene that actually happened in the book was amazing, it totally captured the way I pictured the scene while reading the book. But some parts were fast forward and I was expecting that this & that would happen in the movie but nah it didn’t. When it comes to the characters, Wow! Mr. Burton totally slayed it!. Specially the characters of Hugh, Enoch, Jake (Jacob in book), Millard, Bronwyn (which is my most fave in the book & movie), Horace (who totally looked like the Horace in the book’s picture), Claire, Fiona (supposed to be a teenager along with Hugh). But when it comes to Olive & Emma, It’s kinda awkward coz their peculiarity was swapped & they seem to be a new character for me. But still it was awesome, specially for Emma’s peculiaritywhich is Air that is supposed to be Fire. The wights & hollows are so damn creepy but totally awesome! I love it! they gave me chills tho 😂

Since not-so-like-the-book always happen in every book to movie adaptation, it was still great, I’m not really that disappointed tho. I was expecting some of my fave scenes from the book would happen in the movie but most of them didn’t. The ending was totally different from the book which made me love & hate it. Love, because it was awesome & totally fun to watch. It was very action packed & the kids are so fantastic & cool, I was totally in awe. Hate, because it seems like there will be no sequel, there will be no Hollow City movie 😭 I was waiting for a sign tho but it never came. 

Ok I need to stop myself from this, I might spoil you if I continue talking about the ending. 😂 

Anyway here’s my two different rating for this movie 😂

  • If I ever did not read the book & watched the movie my rating would be : ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 5/5 stars
  • I read the book & watched the movie : ⭐⭐⭐⭐/ 3.9stars

     

Leave a Reply

