Book Reviews

BOOK REVIEW : The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Book Title : The Wrath And The Dawn

Author : Renee Ahdieh

Book Type : 1st book of a Duology

Pages : 388

Format : Hardcover

Date Released : May 12, 2015

Date Started : July 19, 2016

Date Finished : July 29, 2016

One Life to One Dawn.

In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.

Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

Inspired by A Thousand and One Nights , The Wrath and the Dawn is a sumptuous and enthralling read from beginning to end

cr. GOODREADS

First of all I would like to thank (a million times) my amazing friend Zel @thebookmetropolis (instagram) for giving me this amazing book. I’ve been wanting to read this book ever since I’ve heard it from Sasha at bookutopia. So it’s a retelling of Arabian Nights, and omg! This book was freaking glorious!

        Shahrzad , is a bright, fierce & badass female protagonist. I adore her intellegence & braveness.

        Khalid , I don’t know how to start… ok Khalid gaves me a serious Rhysand feels and I love his character so much. So badass like Shazi!

        Despina, she’s talkative & fierce too! I like her tho.

        Jalal, at first I thought he was a threat towards Shazi & Khalid. But it turned out that he’s the best kind of friend for Khalid (even tho he doesn’t admit it).

        Tariq, I understand that Tariq lost his lover but he’s little vengence made me hate him so much.

        Khorasan, is it somewhere in Iraq ? Ok so the setting was particulary in the Palace of Khorasan, I could imagine the islamic architecture setting from this book since I’ve been studying it in our university. So it was glorious, luxurious & beautiful.I really adore middle east settings so I was so happy when I finally got the chance to read this book

        ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/ 5 stars

        At first I was confused with the writing style, since it’s kinda poetic something that I couldn’t explain, but then It was easy to read and It was totally awesome. Thumbs up for Renee Ahdieh! 👍👍

        ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/ 5 stars

        So it was a retelling of Arabian Nights. And in this book it contains some stories like Aladdin & etc. I’ve read some reviews that says this book contains little amount of stories from the Arabian Nights. Hello! It’s a retelling/story for the girl who told different stories of the Arabian nights. So this book focuses on Shahrzad the story teller and the King (Khalid) who kills his wife at dawn. Ok back to the plot appreciation! It was magnificent & enchanting! Also fast paced & entertaining.

        ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/ 5 stars

        What I Love?

        • Shahrzad & Khalid of course!
        • The romance between Shahrzad & Kalid
        • The Story telling parts
        •  Moments between Shazi & Khalid but will not discuss it here coz it’s a spoiler alert!

        What I Hate?

        • Tariq of course!
        • Shazi’s dad, will not discuss any furthur coz it’s a spoiler alert haha
        • the ending! Yas! it wrecked my heart & I was so sad😢

        This book was magnificent & entertaining! I would highly recommend it to everyone if you’re into fantasy/romance. And of course if you love middle east settings. I haven’t read the sequel but I’m excited to read it tho 😂

        So all in all

        ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 5 / 5 stars

        4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW : The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

        Leave a Reply

        