Blog Updates

Blog & Life Updates : Book Buying, Calligraphy? & Authors Noticed me!

I know! I know! I’ve said on my last blog update that I would be active but then I was in an MIA mode again. Schoolworks are killing me tho and also coz I have nothing to blog about besides Book Review, Current Read updates hahaha. Can someone please help me or give me some prompts for book blogging? I just don’t know what to blog anymore unlile when I was in highschool blogging about kpop (yas I was kpop fan before) and I was so active that time. So if you have some tips & prompts for bookblogging just message me on my twitter @_thereadingdove

Anyway here are the stuffs that happened to my life lately. Should I say things that I’ve been busy  doing lately.

1. READING BOOKS ( of course!)

Tbh, I’ve only read 1 or 2 books in a month so not really that productive tho. Unlike those summer break days where I can binge read some of the books on my tbr pile.

2. BOOK BUYING ( hardbacks overload)

Since our local bookstore had been flooding so many books lately who couldn’t resist that? I told myself to stop buying books and be contented of the books that I still haven’t read on my TBR pile.  But I didn’t see? There are so many opportunies for me to buy the books that I’ve been wanting lately. 

  1. Holly smokes! Not so expensive V.E Schwab book!

    Let me told ya, V.E Schwab’s books here in our country are so damn expensive! the Vicious & Darker Shade series are the most expensive one specially in Hardbacks. They cost P1000+ (pesos our currency) or $21/ $22 the paper back? Don’t ask they’re expensive too! P500 or P600 ( $10 or $11)

    Since I’ve heard so many great things about her books and also since I’ve seen the bool in our local bookstore which cost P649 ( $14) in Hardback. So why not men!

            2. Signed Book! My first ever!

    Confession! I haven’t read the SCHOOL FOR GOOD & EVIL trilogy but yet I bought the handbook which is a signed copy. I haven’t owned any signed book and I been wanting to have one so badly. So when I saw it in our local bookstore (what a rare surprise!)  I didn’t hesitate to buy it the next day which is kind of funny cozy classes has been postponed that day due to bad weather but it wasn’t raining & the sun’s shining brightly! So I went to my local bookstore and bought the book. Don’t worry or judge me but I’m going to read TSFGAE trilogy soon.

         3. Found a gem in Booksale (used books bookstore)

    What is booksale? A bookstore that sells used books (sometimes I found some arcs on that wicked bookstore)

    I never been so lucky when it comes to Booksale gems, until that day where I didn’t want to buy any book and found a hardback copy of DOON. I’ve been seeing it alot on bookstagram and it’s a fantasy book so why not plus it was so cheap! P130 ($2) so grabs money from purse & went to the cashier! Kachingg! 

    3. Calligraphy & Arts

    I’ve been busy with Calligrapy & water coloring lately. I was inspired to paint galaxies, islamic architecture & mandala patterns.

    I’m not really good tho, since I’m still practicing lately. Specially in calligraphy, I’ve started learning how to calligraph in the month of may so yep! Please excuse my calligraphy hahaha. 

    Sometimes I prefer to practice water coloring or the calligraphy than reading oops! Hahaha


    4. Authors noticed me & my little artworks!

    Omg! I couldn’t believe it! my fave authors noticed my artworks! I was so happy specially when Leigh Bardugo replied to my tweet. *Squeals*

    And also when Alwyn Hamilton appreciates my work πŸ˜πŸ’•

    I just can’t! Hahaha and that’s all!!

    16 thoughts on “Blog & Life Updates : Book Buying, Calligraphy? & Authors Noticed me!

    1. I love your art so I’m not a bit surprised when authors could go and notice your works! πŸ˜€ And IKR? VE Schwab’s books are effing expensive and I recently found Vicious on paperback here at Fully Booked and it costs about 700+. Imagine that??? PAPERBACK!!! So I had to let the poor thing go 😦 But I was certainly not expecting that This Savage Song in hardback actually costs less…

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I can feel you gurl! Kaya nga hate & love ko minsan si NBS hate ko mostly ksi bias sila pagdating sa mga books d updated unlike FB on the release day ng book meron agad sila 😧

          Like

    2. I don’t blog regularly too because of work, and I don’t blog only about books, I also blog about anything that interests me or anything I want to share with everyone. You don’t have to limit yourself. πŸ™‚
      You’re so good with art! I kinda envy you haha

      Liked by 2 people

    3. I think your art is fantastic!!! It shouldn’t be a surprise that you’d receive recognition for your works. You are insanely talented. 😊

      I understand the whole slump thing. It gets tiring to come up with fresh, unconventional blog content. I recently came up with a new meme called Rec’d & Wreck’d! Maybe you can include that here. It’s very fun and interactive. And it isn’t limited to book recommendations!!! You can know more about it in my post: https://thatbookshelfbitch.wordpress.com/2016/08/23/first-recd-and-wreckd/

      Anyway, it’s great to hear from you again! Good luck with school. 😊 I hope to see you around the blogosphere more often. ❀️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you Mish! Omg! You can do It. I was like that before, I couldn’t do it I almost give up but I was inspired by those amazing calligraphers so I started search up in pinterest & tried to write them on πŸ˜‚

        Like

    Leave a Reply

    