Book Reviews

BOOK REVIEW : The Young Elites by Marie Lu

Book Title : The Young Elites

Author : Marie Lu

Book Type : 1st Book in a trilogy

Book Genre : Fantasy, Young Adult

Pages : 355

Format : Hardcover

Published : October 7, 2014

Date Started : June 27, 2016

Date Finished : July 07, 2016

Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of the blood fever. A decade ago, the deadly illness swept through her nation. Most of the infected perished, while many of the children who survived were left with strange markings. Adelina’s black hair turned silver, her lashes went pale, and now she has only a jagged scar where her left eye once was. Her cruel father believes she is a malfetto, an abomination, ruining their family’s good name and standing in the way of their fortune. But some of the fever’s survivors are rumored to possess more than just scars—they are believed to have mysterious and powerful gifts, and though their identities remain secret, they have come to be called the Young Elites.

Teren Santoro works for the king. As Leader of the Inquisition Axis, it is his job to seek out the Young Elites, to destroy them before they destroy the nation. He believes the Young Elites to be dangerous and vengeful, but it’s Teren who may possess the darkest secret of all. 

Enzo Valenciano is a member of the Dagger Society.This secret sect of Young Elites seeks out others like them before the Inquisition Axis can. But when the Daggers find Adelina, they discover someone with powers like they’ve never seen. 

Adelina wants to believe Enzo is on her side, and that Teren is the true enemy. But the lives of these three will collide in unexpected ways, as each fights a very different and personal battle. But of one thing they are all certain: Adelina has abilities that shouldn’t belong in this world. A vengeful blackness in her heart. And a desire to destroy all who dare to cross her.

So I tried to read some of Marie Lu’s works and I was not impressed. It is a combination of Xmen + Throne Of Glass = The Young Elites

Anyway let’s get on with my review of this book.

Adelina, ok so her character is a dark
one. I was glad she’s not that annoying like those typical main fictional girls.


Enzo
, he’s ok but kinda mysterious 😂


Teren
, whatta great  villain you got here! He’s giving me a MAVEN feels.


Rafaele
, He’s ok for a sidekick character

The writing style was fast paced & amazing!
I love it coz it has 3 povs for the main characters & the villain.
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/ 5 stars

Where do I start? Ok so the plot did not impressed me, it was too cliche. Like what I’ve said it’s a remix of Xmen & TOG so it’s too cliche for me. And also the history of the fever was not clearly explained, where did it came from? But I enjoyed the darkness thingy going on in this book and the revelations of secrets☺
 

⭐⭐⭐/ 2.8 stars

What I Love?

  • Adelina’s Power
  • Enzo of course
  • Sometimes Teren 😊
  • The no. 1 that I love about this book is Violetta and her powers

What I hate?

  • The plot
  • The dark side of Adelina ( she’s too cruel inside, and she’s always thinking of plotting someones death)
  • Teren coz he got into my nerves but he’s on e of my fave villains
  • Spider I was glad that Adelina killed him
  • Rafaelle at the end of the book
  • Also the romance between Adelina & Enzo coz I can’t feel it. They’re just infatuated to eachother

All in all, I did enjoy reading this book. The writing style was amazing but the plot, romance & action did not amazed me. For me the storyline was too cliche coz it gave me a red queen / throne of glass feels. And I was annoyed with the main character’s dark side but I understand coz this is a Villain-Protagonist book. I hope that the 2nd book will be more better than the 1st. And yes I think I’m gonna continue reading this trilogy since the last book’s cover was so freaking stunning! And also I want to meet new characters like Magiano.

⭐⭐⭐⭐/ 3. 9 stars

“Be true to yourself. But that’s something everyone says and no one means. No one wants you to be yourself. They want you to be the version of yourself that they like.”

“It is pointless to believe what you see, if you only see what you believe.”

Thank you for reading my review of THE YOUNG ELITES 


2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW : The Young Elites by Marie Lu

  1. I enjoyed this review! You covered everything, including quotes–which I love. And your review LOOKS amazing. The gold header bubble thingies are a nice touch. I wish I knew how to get my blog looking this good. I haven’t read Young Elites, but I did definitely appreciate Marie Lu’s “fast paced and amazing” writing style in Legend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

