Book Reviews

Broken Sky by L.A Weatherly

image

Book Title : Broken Sky
Book Author : L.A Weatherly
Book Type : Series/Trilogy
Book Pages : 499
Book Genre : Young Adult,Romance
Date Release : March 1, 2016
Date Started : 05/17/16
Date Finished : 05/22/16

SYNOPSIS

Welcome to a ‘perfect’ world.

Where war is illegal, where harmony rules.

And where your date of birth marks your destiny.

But nothing is perfect.

And in a world this broken, who can Amity trust?

From the bestselling author of the Angel trilogy comes Broken Sky – an exhilarating epic set in a daring and distorted echo of 1940s America and first in a new trilogy.

If you want to read a weird & unique dystopian, filled with romance, badass lead characters, pilots & astrology! This book is for you!
I’ve originally read the prologue of this book via Ebook and I was so amazed with the prologue, the lead female character was so badass that get me hooked to this book. I would say that this is the best prologue I’ve ever read in YA fantasy/dystopian books.

So let’s get started with the REVIEW!
please beware of this icons.
🌟MILD SPOILER
😈SPOILER ALERT
😇NO SPOILER

SETTING

The setting of this book is kind of new for me. So it was set in 1940s but I can imagine it was a futuristic kind of setting in that time. But there are also essence of 1940s in this book.
⭐⭐⭐⭐/ 4.2 stars

CHATACTERS

AMITY, our lead female which I find as a perfect badass female character. I love her! She’s so brave, kind & smart.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/5 stars

COLLIE, omg! I also adore Collie, he’s also brave & amazing & super handsome 😍

⭐⭐⭐⭐/4.5 stars

KAY, So she’s the other lead character in this book, coz she had her own perspective through the author’s pov. I don’t really get her character. For me she’s a mystery. I can’t really figure out what is her goal in the story. Is she a villain or a heroine? I can’t even figure out why does she want to be with the main villain.
⭐⭐⭐/ 3 stars

JOHN GUNNISON, the main villain. He had this President Snow vibe. This one is also a mystery for me. Why he’s so obsessed with ZODIAC SIGNS & ASTROLOGY? I can’t figure him out too.

⭐⭐⭐/ 3 stars

WRITING STYLE

The writing style was ok & weird, it was slow paced tho but It always had this flash back and a little bit annoyed by it but it gave the a conclusion to the present story tho.

⭐⭐⭐⭐/ 3.8 stars

PLOT

The plot was ok, not bad & not good at all. It was a weird story for me, it would be awesome if the author also explain the origin of the ASTROLOGY thingy. This book has the divergent vibe tho coz they have this DISCORDANT people that are dangerous to the society/HARMONY.
The plot was ok and weird at the same time.

⭐⭐⭐/ 3.8 stars

FAVORITE PARTS

The Peacefighting, romance between Collie & Amity. The childhood adventures between them & mostly is the PROLOGUE, but I was so disappointed with the continuation.

ALL IN ALL

This book is weird but ok at the same time. I love the prologue but it tricked me! I have to read 75% of it till I reached the continuation to the prologue. Like what I’ve said I was so disappointed coz the fugitive thingy was too short. The ending was nice & there’s a big cliffhanger. I love the female & male lead character. I was having a hard time to understand the pilot & astrology thingy. This book is totally an ‘Ok’ book for me. I don’t know if I’m still going to continue this series coz I was not hooked with it anymore after the prologue, yes! After the prologue. 

So All in All
⭐⭐⭐⭐/ 3.9 stars

Thank You for Reading My Reviews

2 thoughts on “Broken Sky by L.A Weatherly

Leave a Reply

