Book Reviews

Truth Witch by Susan Dennard

image

Book Title : TRUTHWITCH
Book Author : Susan Dennard
Book Type : 1st Book In A Series
Book Pages : 416
Book Genre : Young Adult, Fantasy
Date Release : 01/05/16
Date Started : 04/19/16
Date Finished : 04/22/16

SYNOPSIS

In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands.

Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.

Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she’s a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden – lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult’s true powers are hidden even from herself.

In a chance encounter at Court, Safi meets Prince Merik and makes him a reluctant ally. However, his help may not slow down the Bloodwitch now hot on the girls’ heels. All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom, but danger lies ahead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

This is the 1st book in the WITCHLAND series by Susan Dennard. So this book is all about friendship, magic & a little bit of romance.
I can still remember the moment I bought this book, a wide smile plastered on my face coz finally I can have this book. Guess what? I was lured to jump into the pool of hype of this book. Plus this was my first ever super expensive Trade Paper Back.
So when I saw it in the bookshelf I picked it up and yeah! But it seems that this overhyped book disappointed me. 😧

So let’s get started with the REVIEW!
please beware of this icons.
🌟MILD SPOILER
😈SPOILER ALERT
😇NO SPOILER

SETTING

Ok, so I was introduced into a world full of witches with different magic/powers/specialties. The introduction of the places was ok, but the places mentioned in this book didn’t captured my attention that much.
⭐⭐⭐/3.5

CHATACTERS

Safiya, so she’s the lead character in this book, and she’s the walking TRUTH/LIE detector. Which I find so dumb, like everyone wanted to kill anyone just to get her & her power,but it was not even explain why her power is so important? Why do they need her power?
She’s fierce but kind of stupid with her dumb plans and she always put Iseult & herself in danger. And she also loves to say “It’s all my fault” but she’s not even  doing something to correct her mistakes. She tried tho, but it made it worse.
⭐⭐⭐/3

Iseult, so she’s Safi’s bestfriend/THREADSISTER and her character was better than Safi, atleast her power/magic make sense & there’s alot more from it. There’s something from this book that annoyed me about Iseult’s character. So there’s a descrimination on her race called Nomatsi, but the reason for this descrimination was not explained clearly. 😧
⭐⭐⭐⭐/4

Prince Merik, so he’s a good prince with a good legacy for his country. Merik’s character was great, and he’s my fave character in this book because of his determination to open a trade to other places in the book for his people.
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/5

Aeduan, so the rumors were true about him, I had this DARKLING feels about him too. His one of the villain in the book tho. But for me his character was still a mystery coz he’s a villain/hero.
⭐⭐⭐⭐/4

And Oh! There’s a little romance happening in this book. Guess what? It’s an insta-love romance 😂

WRITING STYLE

Ok, beware more rants coming!
The writing style was ok but ‘meh’ at the same time. It was a fast paced & slowpaced reading experience for me at the same time. For me the author keeps on jumping into new details and the previous one was left behind with too many holes. In other words, there are lots of questions from this book that were left unanswered till the end. (I don’t want to give example coz I don’t want to spoil you guys😇) I kept reading in hopes for the answers but there’s nothing. And also what I don’t like about the writing style is that it was so confusing just ugh! I was confused from the start till the very end. And so many words like Guildmaster,Domna,Dom, CarhAwen, & specially the kinds of witches wasn’t explained clearly. I think this book needs a glossary on the backpage tho.

⭐⭐/2.5 stars 😧

PLOT

This book has the potential of a good FANTASY book, The world building was ok, but it was ruined because of those holes in the story details. I enjoyed the action, magic stuffs and the little romance, but this book was so confusing. And the pacing was a big mess from fast paced-slow paced-fast paced-slow paced- over fast paced.Atleast the ending isn’t that predictable.

⭐⭐⭐/3 stars

FAVORITE PARTS

Uhmm the fighting scene between Merik & Safi, also Iseult & Aeduan’s encounter and lastly the CahrAwen thing happened at the nearly end (don’t want to spoil you guys, so watch out for this when you get the chance to read this book)

ALL IN ALL

Again, this book has the potential but because of those unanswered questions & poor details on this book. It was a disappointment read for me, even tho I enjoyed some part but still it didn’t catch my attention that much. I almost DNF this book but since for the sake of my money, I wanted to know if the ending would be worth it (just a bit tho & not even a cliffhanger ending). All I can say is that this book confused me so much, this is the first time I’ve read a super disappointing Fantasy book. I’m sorry but I didn’t like this book, maybe if there are some guidelines for this book ( I tried searching it in google but found nothing) maybe It wouldn’t disappoint me that much. But I also adored the book because of the friendship going on between Safi & Iseult.

So my rating all in all
⭐⭐⭐/ 3 stars

FAVORITE QOUTES

“Sometimes justice was all about the small victories.”

Thank you so much for reading my review! 😊

YOU CAN ALSO FIND ME IN :

GOODREADS

♡ INSTAGRAM

♡ TWITTER

2 thoughts on “Truth Witch by Susan Dennard

  1. This is such an in-depth review! I love it – I completely agree with everything you said. I thought that the book was okay (I also gave it 3/5 stars), but it had so much potential! Unfortunately, there was a huge info-dump in the first quarter of the book where a glossary would’ve helped tremendously. There was also not much world-building, and I just found Safi incredibly annoying.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Jorlene 😊 I’m so glad we’re having the same feels for this book. I just don’t get it why other readers who reviewed & rated this on goodreads gave this book 4 stars 😂 Yup! Safi is incredibly annoying & I still don’t get it why her power/witchery was so important. 😧

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

