Book Reviews

Crown Of Midnight by Sarah J Maas

image

Book Title : Crown Of Midnight
Book Author : Sarah J Maas
Book Type : 2nd Book In A Series
Book Pages : 418
Book Genre : Young Adult, Fantasy,Romance
Date Release : 08/27/13
Date Started : 03/14/16
Date Finished : 04/19/16

SYNOPSIS

“A line that should never be crossed is about to be breached.

It puts this entire castle in jeopardy—and the life of your friend.”

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

So this is the 2nd book in the Throne of Glass series which is my fave so far. I was glad that everything from this books had level up. And OMG! The Chaolaena moments killed me! 😂😂
OFFICIALLY TEAM CHAOL!
Anyways I’ve read the 1st half of the book in the month of March & half this April because schoolworks are killing me so I need to focus so yeah!

So we have here again our fave trio Celaena, Chaol & Dorian in another amazing & full of mystery adventure. Celaena being the King’s champion/ assassin but she’s not killing any of the King’s enemies & blah blah blah. Dorian who’s discovering something about himself & lastly Chaol being so handsome & amazing as ever.

So let’s get started with the REVIEW!
please beware of this icons.
🌟MILD SPOILER
😈SPOILER ALERT
😇NO SPOILER

SETTING

No need to talk much about this, we’re still in the Kingdom of Ardalan.

CHARACTERS
(INDIVIDUAL RATINGS FOR EACH CHARACTERS)

Celaena, I was glad that her character had level up a bit. I still love her sarcasm & shits, but at the 2nd half of the book I was annoyed by her pride & all of her drama. But atleast I was glad that now she’s playing her role as an assassin by being fierce & slaying their asses. (not doing some girly stuffs)
⭐⭐⭐/3.5

Chaol, I was surprised by his character from being stiff to soft Chaol. I love him as always, being the over protective & loving guy for Celaena.
But I feel bad for him coz he seems to be a useless Captain of The Guard, what I mean is that he’s not into action, he’s more like going to meetings & stuffs. I’m going to miss him if I read the 3rd book tho.
⭐⭐⭐⭐/4.5

Dorian, I was also surprised by his character damn it he had a some powers dude! (Oops! 🌟 MILD SPOILER) In the story he’s character is the most interesting one because of that power thing. And I still do love Dorian because of his kindness & everything. Go Dorian!
⭐⭐⭐⭐/4.5

WRITING STYLE

Good,Beautiful & Fast Paced as always

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/5

PLOT

I hate to admit this but I spoiled some part of the story before I’ve read this book😂 But I was half glad & half feel bad about it. I promise I will not spoil books again, coz it made me want to DNF the book. But luckily I didn’t spoil myself that much coz on the nearly end of the book, it started to get interesting with the mystery that is crawling around the book. As always the mystery keep saving me from DNF-ing the book. Like from the 1st book,I really love the mystery on it.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/5

FAVORITE PARTS

There are only 3 fave parts that I have here in this book.

1. The Chaolaena Romance : The Date in Chaol’s Birthday & the Sexy scene after that.

2. When Celaena became more baddass & fierce

3. When Celaena solved the mystery & revealed who she truly is.

ALL IN ALL

This book was amazing, an awesome sequel & my favorite book in the series so far.
I loved everything from this book except the annoying stuffs so I’ll give this book a

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/ 4 stars + 1 for Chaol = 5 stars

FAVORITE QOUTES

1. “The best lies were always mixed with truth.”

2. “Some things you hear with your ears. Others, you hear with your heart.”

THANK YOU FOR READING MY REVIEW!

YOU CAN ALSO FIND ME IN :

GOODREADS

♡ INSTAGRAM 

♡ TWITTER

2 thoughts on “Crown Of Midnight by Sarah J Maas

Leave a Reply

