Book Reviews

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

image

image

Book Title : Throne Of Glass
Book Author : Sarah J. Maas
Book Type : 1st Book in a Series
Book Pages : 421
Date Release :

SYNOPSIS

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined. 

Hello Everyone! I’m back with a new review!
So Sarah J. Maas visited our country PHILIPPINES
Last sunday, March 13, 2016. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to come on her booksigning even. Coz it’s too faraway, I need to travel with a plane just to get there at the venue.

Anyways, since I’ve seen TOG series photos on instagram & I have heard so many great things about this series. I been wanting get my hands on it since last year. But the books were not available on our local bookstore until the AMAZING booksigning came. (Thank you NBS for the long wait 😯)
So I picked it up and I was so excited to read it 😊💕

So let’s get started with the REVIEW!
please beware of this icons.
🌟MILD SPOILER
😈SPOILER ALERT
😇NO SPOILER

THE SETTING

I can’t really determine what’s the theme of TOG is, is it something like medieval? IDK, but I can picture out how the places & structures were described. Specially the glass castle. 😂☺

⭐⭐⭐⭐/ 4.5

THE CHARACTERS

Please excuse me for the long rants on this portion.
Ok so characters, we have the heroine Celaena Sardothein the beautiful & fierce assassin.
So I was annoyed by her attitude, I mean how the author describe her. When it comes to her POV, she’s saying that she slays them all and that, she’s the most awesome, and lastly the most beautiful & fairest of them all. Like All the boys would be lured by her beauty. Ok I kind of believe that, since the 🌟Prince immediately fall for her beauty.
But I still do like Celaena, coz of her sarcasm & arrogance. Which I find funny 😂

“I know, it is impressive that I accomplished so much at such an early age”

And what I love about her most is that she’s an avid fan of reading😊 I really do like characters in books that loves to read 😊💕

“I didn’t know that assassin likes to read”

So next is Prince Dorian Havillard, omg! I don’t know what to ship between the prince & the captain. They’re both Hot!
I love Dorian’s character he’s so kind & sweet but sometimes so annoying.

Next is Chaol Westfall, ow!Bae! He’s so damn hot! I Love his character, a bit cold but kind at the same time. I know you’re just being shy babe!
Anyways I also do love his sarcasm towards Celaena

“You sound like a raving lunatic”

I love it when Celaena & Chaol argue to eachother & throwing sarcasm to eachother.

Next Is Princess Nehemia, she’s the ultimate bff !
I also do like her character, not so annoying at all 😆

And for the Villains? They Rock!

Ratings : ⭐⭐⭐⭐/4.5 stars

WRITING STYLE

This is my 2nd book of SJMaas that I have read, so for me the writing style was ok!. It was an easy read & fast paced too 😊

Ratings: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/ 5 stars

PLOT

I don’t have any idea about this book, even tho there was a synopsis on it. OMG! This book! I was si intrigue & it was also full of mystery. Yep! Those things made me love this book more, the mystery feels. 😃 Even tho I tried to spoil myself with the TOG series but still the mystery amazed me! TBH I can’t predict what will happen next.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/5 stars

FAVORITE PARTS
Oops! 🌟MILD SPOILER

What I love most about this book is the MYSTERY part (of course!), Celaena’s arrogance (I love her character even tho sometimes she’s super annoying), Chaol & Celaena fighting like a cat & dog and finally Dorian 😍😍 He’s my prince charming 😆

I love the romance between Dorian & Celaena, but not as good as Chaol & Celaena (currently reading the 2nd book)

Also the competition, it was awesome!

ALL IN ALL

Throne of Glass amazed me, even though there are some annoying parts, I did not regret reading it. It was worth the wait since I’ve been rooting to read this series since last yr.

I also did READING-FEELS on my SNAPCHAT!
It’s a tradition when I’m reading a book 😊

SO YEAH TEAM DORIAN OR TEAM CHAOL?
can’t wait to continue reading the 2nd book.

⭐⭐⭐⭐/ 4.5stars

FAVE QOUTES

1.
“Libraries were full of ideas–perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.”

2.
How long was I asleep?” she whispered. He didn’t respond.
“How long was I asleep?” she asked again, and noticed a hint of red in his cheeks.
“You were asleep, too?”
“Until you began drooling on my shoulder

3.
Sometimes, the wicked will tell us things just to confuse us–to haunt our thoughts long after we’ve faced them.

THANK YOU FOR READING MY REVIEW!

YOU CAN ALSO FIND ME IN :

GOODREADS

♡ INSTAGRAM 

♡ TWITTER

Leave a Reply

