Book Reviews

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

image

image

Book Title : Glass Sword
Book Type : Sequel
Book Pages : 464
Date Release : Feb. 9 2016

SYNOPSIS

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.
The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.
Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.
But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.
Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

First of all I would like to thank Miss Victoria Aveyard for the amazement she gave me through this book. I definitely kneeled for its awesomeness.
Once again this series never failed me even though it made me feel fear of what will happen next.

So for this review I’ll be doing some changes on my previous one I will add something and there would be a MILD/ SPOILER ALERT.

So Let’s get Started!!! 😊😀
Coz this is a bit long
but before that please beware of this icons.
🌟MILD SPOILER
😈SPOILER ALERT
😇NO SPOILER

THE SETTING
Ok so this book has been set in so many places that has not been explored on the first book. We have the places such as Choke, Naercey, Tuck , Notch and so many more. (See through Red Queen Map)
Every place has been describe from bits to bits. And I love this kind of sequels that has started to introduced other places that was mention in the 1st book. But my most fave place is Notch because its been the safest place that has been mention in this book. I’ve been  a sucker for danger anyways.
🌟🌟🌟🌟/ 5 🌟

THE CHARACTERS

Obviously Mare, Cal, Farley, Shade & Kilorn are the major characters in this book. And of course let’s add the X-men ! Ops! Just kidding I mean the NEW BLOODS. They’re the people who are red blooded but has a silver abilities a.k.a power. Let’s get detailed, for Mare she definitely improved but turned out to be a bit bad not a baddass. I don’t know what will happen to her on the 3rd book but I hope she wouldn’t get worse but I’m proud for her braveness in all the missions. For Cal, he’s definitely my bias in this book and I’m officially #TeamCal, sorry Maven. I feel so much pity for Cal, he’s been betrayed, ruined and most of all broken. But I’m also proud of his patience, understanding and courage. For Farley and Shade they’re baddass as always like what happened in STEEL SCARS. And I totally shipped them but my heart is broken once again for what happened to them at the ending.
🌟MILD SPOILER: I think Farley is Preggy.
And For Kilorn,

“The benefit of befriending nurses” Kilorn Says

here’s a 🌟MILD SPOILER: I thought he’s a traitor bff at chapter 8 but he turned out to be the true bff I’m dreaming of. I salute for Kilorn for his determination and braveness. And also the possibility of #TeamKilorn.
And lastly for the NEWBLOODS, my favorite would be Ada, Harrick, Nanny, & Nix. They’ve the best power for me. 😇No Spoiler for this.
And some fave characters would be the other Silvers.

“Well, Red, aren’t you going to do something?”

My most hate Characters would be MAVEN & QUEEN ELARA and their puppet silvers.
🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟/5🌟

WRITING STYLE
I have no complains to this book, it was fast-paced one and the writing style is so good like in the 1st book. I’m so glad that this book didn’t put me into reading slumps (coz other hype books did put me to reading slumps tho.)

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟/5🌟

PLOT

I have no idea that the plot would be a bomb. My mind exploded on the last 2 words of this book. It was definitely awesome, much better than the
1st book, coz of its action packed, new characters that made me so excited, the angst which I’m rooting for and lastly the angsty-romance or lil romance on this book. But for some reason I have some list of vibes I have on this book.
Like Starwars, Six Of Crows, X-men and Mocking Jay.

🌟🌟🌟🌟/4.5

FAVORITE PART

I have so many favorite Parts on this book.
1st is the escape and Kilorn’s surprising rescue on Chapter 8. 2nd is the romance between Cal & Mare and I’m expecting for this.

“I won’t let him hurt you again”

But in the end there’s a trouble between them.
3rd is the amazing & exciting powers of new blood, I definitely have an X-men vibe here.
4th is the angsty romance between Mare and Maven

“Maven wants you more than anything else on this earth”

5th is the recruitment, I won’t discuss on that

6th is the raid andthat part is in the ending, won’t discuss on that too.

😈SPOILER ALERT
8th is the death of Elara, but I hate it coz it’s not detailed as what I’ve expected.

ALL IN ALL

All in all this book is the bomb, I have so many feels on this and I’ve posted every feels I had on my snapchat account and also on my instagram post entitled “GLASS SWORD SPAZZ + SPOILER ALERT” which I’ve already deleted and I would like to thank all those bookstagrammers who joined the discussion. I’m looking forward to the 3rd book and I’m obssessed for the movie adaptation of this book like they should make it so soon. I hope someday I would be watching this on the Big Screen.

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟/ 5🌟

FAVE QOUTES

“You never saw me the way I see you, not even at home, before all this happened. I thought you might one day but – it’s just not in you to lovee me”
-Kilorn

“I guess all rumors do have a grain of truth. Even the ones that little snit Maven spits out. ‘Mare Barrow seduced the prince into killing the king’ It’s shocking to know he’s half-right” -Kilorn

“What your sister ran from”
-Mare Barrow

“And I say it again. Anyone, anything, can betray anyone. Even your own heart”
-Julian

Thank you for reading my review 😊💕

4 thoughts on “Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

