Book Reviews

The Siren by Kiera Cass

image
image

This is my 1st book of Kiera Cass, and now I can see why she’s so popular. Her writing style was so good and it made me want to read THE SELECTION SERIES.

Anyways her book THE SIREN is a standalone and it was already published in 2009. So obviously this is the 2nd version of the book.

Here’s a little synopsis of The Siren.

“You must never do anything that might expose our secret. This means that, in general, you cannot form close bonds with humans. You can speak to us, and you can always commune with the Ocean, but you are deadly to humans. You are, essentially, a weapon. A very beautiful weapon. I won’t lie to you, it can be a lonely existence, but once you are done, you get to live. All you have to give, for now, is obedience and time…”
The same speech has been given hundreds of times to hundreds of beautiful girls who enter the sisterhood of sirens. Kahlen has lived by these rules for years now, patiently waiting for the life she can call her own. But when Akinli, a human, enters her world, she can’t bring herself to live by the rules anymore. Suddenly the life she’s been waiting for doesn’t seem nearly as important as the one she’s living now.

Moving on to the review….
I was fascinated with the synopsis and was hypnotized by the book cover. It was indeed a great read for me and it also made me get rid of my reading slump.
The prolouge made me more interested to the book. Until it went to the present day, which they mixed up with the modern lifestyle. I’ve never expected this coz I thought it would be a love story between the siren & a sailor. Anyways I continued still curious about this book. So when Kahlen finally met Akinli, I was freaking out coz this is it THE ROMANCE. But then I thought of something kind of funny, Kahlen can’t speak to Akinli and the last book I’ve read was Maybe Someday which also one of main character can’t speak. So yeah. (Sorry for my nonsense rant, but this situation made me – lol)
Anyways moving on to the review. The romance was OKAY, for me it lacks some romance scene and everything that I expected from the book. I understand it coz this is a FORBIDDEN kind of love story.
So far it was good, atleast they’ve shared a kiss.

About the antagonist, I knew the OCEAN would be the antagonist in this story. Atleast it was a mild one not so cruel & shitty.

And gosh this book made me cry. I was crying when it comes to the sad parts like one of the siren graduated from being a siren, Kahlen’s feelings and mostly the ending.
(I’m not saying it’s a sad ending *spoiler?)

This book was so heartwarming & heartaching at the same time.
I’m so glad what happened at the ending. It didn’t disappointed me much. For me this book just lacks of something what I expected from it. Maybe my expectations are a bit high but so far it was one of the good reads I have this 2016.

RATINGS : ⭐⭐⭐⭐/ 4.3 stars out of 5

FAVORITE QOUTES :

“There’s always room for love. Even if it’s as small as a crack in the door.”

“It was like staring at a piece of art or the stars in the sky. I just had to watch him.”
-Kahlen, The Siren

YOU CAN ALSO FIND ME IN :

GOODREADS

♡ INSTAGRAM 

♡ TWITTER

Leave a Reply

